Ballerina

music_box___dancing_ballerina_by_sandye101010-d47qho7
(Image by Sandy Ye)

~

Iā€™m a ballerina in a music box,

Living each day with a smile sewn on my face,

Mending my own plastic heart,

While standing tall,

Looking graceful, beautiful and poised.

~

The music that opens at the touch of your hand,

Sends me pirouetting round in circles,

The same motion,

The same direction,

The same expression.

~

Strength and control,

My best-hidden abilities,

Physically, emotionally,

I am fragile, yet strong,

I am contorted, yet smooth.

~

I see my reflection,

I feel so flawed,

Who is this girl,

I wonder,

That I have ignored,

~

At last, the song finishes,

But no standing ovation,

You close me in,

Darkness, stillness,

I wait for the next exhibition.

One thought on “Ballerina

Leave a Reply

