The candy crush effect

Photo on 2013-06-03 at 21

Warning. Nerd blog entry ahead. 

Yes. I’ve played the game and I’ve had my fair share of addiction to it. There was one point where I’ll be tapping away trying to beat fellow addicts. Before bedtime, waking up in the morning, on the bus, on the toilet seat (lol), lunch, dinner, during lectures, while writing essays – you name it, I’ve done it.

It went to the extent where I started becoming anti-social. My darkest moment was feeling so hooked that I’d start feeling anxious every 20 minutes, because thats when you get a life, duh! It was either pause the conversation or play while pretending to listen with full attention. When I look back I think to myself, “How shameless can I get? Swapping conversation over a game.” Tsk Tsk. See I do feel guilty now, so I apologize if I did this to you.

Now I’ve recovered. Went to a rehabilitation center for candy crush addicts for a full two weeks! Haha no, I’ve stopped playing like a maniac and I’ll only play occasionally. In truth I’ve grown bored of it. Though my mums the addict now. She’s continuously on Facebook tapping away all those candy, stalking her friends to see whose scoring the highest, and of course nagging me for more life. She’ll even laugh and rub it in if she beats your score and whine if I don’t help her level up. And, there’ll be times where she’s fighting over the computer with my dad. Its quite cute, funny and annoying at the same time (I hope she doesn’t see this).

I’m sure many of your friends on Facebook are going through the same thing. So if you’re a candy crush addict, fret not cause you’re not alone. There are so many people out there who are in the same state as you and you will overcome this addiction one day, you have my word. Be strong and don’t let candy crush ruin your social life.  Admitting your addiction is the first step towards recovery.

My final piece of advice — Always remember friends and family before candies okay!?

Cheers!

One thought on “The candy crush effect

Leave a Reply

